Ideas – the HORSE II

Had four pieces on the go – keeps me busy whilst waiting for one or other to dry enough for me to work on again.  Two Exposures: one torso, one full body; a small experimental porcelain Exposure; and the horse.

Basically started the horse on the 8th of March (see March blog Ideas, and April blog – Ideas – the HORSE  ), but with the trips to Auckland and all, didn’t get stuck into it until a week later.

I used a ruler a lot when making the four legs, making sure the circumference:height was the same on all four.  I became less staunch with the ruler once I reached the body; and it shows.  The shoulders and neck deviate from plan quite a bit and are not even.  The opening for the interior landscape threw my sense of balance; it was a time when I should have been more careful about measuring when in fact, I forgot about it.

The neck is most probably too small and I’ve flared it out a little to make it a 15cm diameter (although this is still 5cm less than planned in the drawing).  Time will tell whether my inattention to detail will cause further problems when starting the head.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Ideas – the HORSE II

  1. Pingback: Variation on an Idea (VOI) – the HORSE IV | PrometheusHamilton: A Community Hearth Project

  2. Pingback: Ideas – the HORSE III | PrometheusHamilton: A Community Hearth Project

  3. Pingback: Ideas – the HORSE | PrometheusHamilton: A Community Hearth Project

Leave a note.

